Students and New Researchers Network

SNRN events organized during the Conference

SNRN Science Slam

20:00 Thursday, September 1

This year the first ISEE Science Slam will take place during the cocktail reception. Five contestants will be presenting their research in an 8 minute entertaining performance. Come and assist and vote for the best performance!

SNRN Early Morning Sessions

7:30- 8:30 Friday, September 2

“An Interactive Ethics Workshop for Young Researchers – a Joint Session of the ISEE Ethics and Philosophy Committee and the SNRN”

7:30- 8:30 Saturday, September 3

“Building Your Network: How to Connect and Make it Count”

SNRN Connection Corner

10.15-10:45 September 2 - 3

The SNRN Connection Corner is a casual meeting space where senior investigators and grant program officers make themselves available so that students and new researchers can stop by and chat with them in an informal relaxed atmosphere. The SNRN connection Corner is located in the Foyer opposite the SALA RISONANZE and is open from 10:15-10:45 (during the morning coffee breaks) on September 2 and 3.

Location: tables next to coffee break

Date/time (10:15-10:45am) Name Email Affiliation
September 2
  Mike Brauer michael.brauer@ubc.ca University of British Columbia
  Carmen Marsit carmen.j.marsit@emory.edu Emory University
  Kimberly Gray gray6@niehs.nih.gov NIEHS Program Director, Children’s Environmental Health
  David Balshaw balshaw@niehs.nih.gov NIEHS Branch Chief, Exposure, Response, and Technology
  Gwen Collman collman@niehs.nih.gov NIEHS Director of Extramural Research & Training
  Gary Ellison ellisong@mail.nih.gov NCI Branch Chief of Environmental Epid
September 3
  Jordi Sunyer jordi.sunyer@isglobal.org CREAL/ISGlobal
  Margaret Karagas Margaret.R.Karagas@Dartmouth.edu Dartmouth University
  Bonnie Joubert bonnie.joubert@nih.gov NIEHS Scientific Program Director, Co director of Extramural Epidemiology Program
  Claudia Thompson thompso1@niehs.nih.gov NIEHS Branch Chief for Susceptibility and Population Health Branch

Social event – ISEE World Cup

19:00 Saturday, September 3

A 5-a side mixed football tournament will take place on Saturday, September 3rd from 19:30 onwards at Orange Futbolclub (Via degli Olimpionici, 71).  Students and New researchers can be part of a team and play or just come along and cheer while having an Italian style “aperitivo” and meet new ISEE members. A dedicated lounge area with background music, drinks and snacks will be available next to the football pitches. Go to the page to register.